In Hindu and yoga teachings chakras have been recognized for thousands of years, although they have only recently been introduced to the West. Chakras are the main energy points of our life force or "subtle body" - sometimes referred to as Spiritual Energy, or Ch'i. The word Chakra comes from the ancient Sanskrit word for "wheel", and Chakras are often perceived by healers as a spinning wheel of energy.

There are seven main Chakras linked to nerve centers along the spinal cord.

Each of the main Chakras is located more or less in the centre of the body, spiraling out from both front and back. Each Chakra is associated with a colour, a specific area of the body and specific energies. Stones and crystals recommended for specific situations or health problems are often chosen according to their colour relationship to the relevant Chakra.

Each chakra governs different elements of our spiritual and physical health.. There are 7 major chakras- Crown, Third Eye, Throat, Heart, Solar Plexus, Sacral and Base.

Each chakra is either open or closed. They may be active, under active, or overactive. Ideally, all the chakras are balanced.

There are Semi precious stones which have metaphysical properties to help balance these energies and can help to create a healthier body, mentally, emotionally and physically.

According to Eastern philosophy, blocked or negative energy can lead to emotional and physical ailments. It is believed that meditation on the various chakras can help the body and mind heal. It is also believed that each of the chakras is stimulated by color.

With this in mind I have created different styles of chakra jewellery, Bracelets, Necklaces, handbag/key-ring Charms and Earrings.

The 1st chakra is the root/base chakra and its color is red.

The first chakra relates to survival, security, and feeling welcome in the world.

The 2nd chakra  is called the sacral chakra and its color is orange.

The second chakra relates to creativity and sexuality.

The 3rd chakra is the solar plexus and the color is yellow.

The third chakra relates to personal power and decision making skills.

The 4th chakra is the heart chakra and the color is green.

The fourth chakra relates to loving others, the ability to be loved, and compassion.

The 5th chakra is the throat chakra and its color is blue.

The fifth chakra relates to communication and expression.

The 6th chakra is the third eye chakra and its color is indigo.

The 6th chakra relates to psychics, intuition, dreaming, spirituality and mediumship.

The 7th chakra is the crown chakra and the color is violet.

The seventh chakra relates to divine wisdom, true understanding, and spirituality.